Holiday List: Days 1 + 2

There is this really wonderful blogger that I have admired for quite some time now. Her name? Gala Darling. She posted a December Activity Guide in 2012 that will basically knock your socks off. What I have done today is write out all of the things to do each day, and kind of knocked off what has already been done.

But wait… you mean I have already done some of the things on this list?! And it’s only THE 2ND OF DECEMBER?!

Why, yes. In the quiet hours before the clock struck midnight and Thanksgiving was upon us, I had my wonderful boyfriend over to sit with me while I made my apartment festive for the holidays. He ended up helping more than I expected, which was really sweet. But that’s another post for a different day.

I would just like to note the things I have completed for Day 1 and Day 2, if that is alright with the world. (And then I’d like to super suggest that you either compile a list of your own, or stick as close to hers as possible. It really has me thinking about togetherness and the things I am normally too busy to really think about this time of year.)

Day 1’s task was to put up a tree. My tree isn’t very original, honestly. It’s a small tree that was purchased by my parents to light up my bedroom window as a child. I have put it up every year (save for Christmas 2010, because I wasn’t home all fall and we celebrated the holiday in San Diego), and this year has not changed just because I moved to an apartment all on my lonesome. I love the idea of a real tree, but enjoy the fact that I have this little guy to help my apartment feel merry and bright during a year where I am between jobs and doing more at-home, crafty things. I set my little tree friend on top of two crates and decorated it with a portion of my ornaments from childhood. I put gifts I had already wrapped (In September…) in and around the crates.

I continued in the holiday spirit that night by bringing one of my vintage green shutters into the front room from my office and putting lights on it. I also hung a banner I had made for the mantle that says “Happy Holidays,” and put up 3 stockings for myself, my boyfriend, and his cat. I finished the mantle off with a wreath I had made in November, and by switching around to host some more festive candles.

I added a little Christmas spirit here and there throughout the apartment, even including my glittery Hanukkah wreath and 101 Dalmations snow globes among the decor. I even purchased 2 advent calendars for the boyfriend and myself. Because who says you have to be a kid to enjoy a chocolate a day? Or 12? All in all, I think I’ve achieved my own little holiday retreat. And with the glow of the night on my bearded friend and our crock pot meal, I was a pretty happy camper.

December 2nd’s task is to get some new pajamas. Well, we have been doing that. Every year on Christmas Eve for as long as I can remember. Who’s to say if this year will be the same? My twin sister and I are 25, so I would understand if the tradition faded. But either way, it isn’t time for my new PJs. So I will be rockin’ my pink bunny onesie that I got one Christmas in college tonight. (And if you don’t believe me, check out my Instagram later.)

That is all for now, my people. What are you doing to get into the holiday spirit?

Leave a Reply

