Manifest Monday: Things I’ve Done

Alright. I was scrolling through list prompts online and I found the perfect one. I think this is great for anyone, especially those of us who feel like we are at an impasse in our lives (be it career, relationships, or otherwise). It’s always a great idea to count your blessings. SO, in honor of that mindset, I’d like to introduce you to my list of things I have done that I previously never thought I could or would do.

Screen Shot 2014-11-10 at 10.23.28 AM

  1. I survived high school. OK, this one is kind of a no-brainer. I was always pretty smart and have really enjoyed school. But there was a time in high school when people were just mean. My eyes opened up to the fact that it doesn’t matter how nice you are to people, or how far you go out of your way for them. There will always be people who don’t like you or are jealous and will do anything to make you feel like dirt. No, I never had a morbid thought during those times when I was a teen, but I did consider transferring schools several times. I did wonder what it would be like if I got sick or were hospitalized. But I came out on the other side. And I have a handful of friends who were right there with me the whole time. Plenty of people have experienced the same things I did, and some people still are. It’ll be OK. Promise.
  2. I went to college in San Diego. (This was never something I didn’t think I could do. In fact, never for a second did I question that I could do it.) I had people telling me I would not move away. They’d say things like, “Yeah, my first kid wanted to go to New York and then as he got older, he decided to stay here,” or, “Yeah, you’ll change your mind.” Nope. I applied to too many schools and got into too many schools and then I went to California. (Take THAT, Mr. Murphy! My high school counselor even told me I couldn’t do it.) **I graduated with a 4 year degree in 2.5 years, too. So…. 🙂
  3. I moved to New York City on a whim. I had lived back at home for 9 months, and I was searching avidly for a job in social media. Well, I found an internship. And I moved to a new city for it! I had never been to NYC and, although I had a little bit of an idea of what to expect, I wasn’t fully aware. Lucky me, I jumped right in. I started work 17 hours after my flight landed, and I never gave it a second thought. My year in NYC was full of ups and downs (and I did so many things I never would have imagined doing previously), but it was so worth it. The adventure was worth it.
  4. I’m dating a guy I had a crush on when I was a freshman in high school. And he’s a great guy who has always been my friend and who I have had the pleasure of knowing for 11 years. I’ve already told this story, so I won’t talk about it now. But… take THAT everyone!
  5. I bought my first car. In cash. A lot of people have told me that the car would be too much and I’d have to pay with a credit card. I was also told I wouldn’t find anything that I had described wanting in a good price range. I sifted through my options, and I actually found a really great Honda in the color I wanted, with a pretty good mileage history. It was a little out of my price range, but worth all the cash I had to lay out for it. (It looked sketchy handing over all of those $100 bills!)
  6. I took a solo trip to NOLA to visit my friend Becca. I had never been there. I bought a plane ticket because I wanted to experience something different. I flew out, caught the right public transportation, experienced Mardi Gras parades, walked a lot of places, and even met Mike & Mike! (It was right before the Super Bowl.)
  7. I took a solo trip to Chicago. I had some friends to visit, and I spent a LOT of time wandering around the city alone. I had been there before, so it was relatively easy. I find now–more than ever since I’ve lived in NYC–that I love the challenge of navigating a city on my own. It’s like a puzzle. And I love them. (I got it from my mama!)
  8. I worked in the same space with a lot of my favorite bands from high school. That unpaid internship that one summer in NYC was a whirlwind of free concerts, running to The Today Show, making things, delivering things and writing for some great people in the music industry.
  9. I have been onstage during a Broadway performance. (I shot and edited a marriage proposal at curtain, and got to hang out with all of the performers!)
  10. I have shot and edited/streamed professional material for Broadway. Seriously. It’s insane. Besides being onstage at Rock of Ages, I got to work live stream for Memphis on Broadway. I’m kind of a big deal.
  11. I don’t know… there are so many things I am doing with my life that I never expected and it’s kind of cool to pay attention to that every once in a while. What have you done that you never expected? Leave a comment or shoot me an email at meredith@dbl-take.com so we can celebrate together!
Leave a Reply

