Manifest Monday 10: Spring Cleanse

Today, it is my job (as part of the 52 List Challenge) to list the ways I am going to cleanse for the spring time. Well, this’ll be a fun–and extensive (and probably impractical)–list!

Screen Shot 2014-11-10 at 10.23.28 AM

Tulip_Petals_Red_copy Move out of my parents’ house. It is my goal that before I turn 25, I get a place of my own. I love my parents dearly, and they have been nothing but a strong support system (and impossibly amazing roommates) since my move back from NYC, but I really want to have a place of my own and feel like an adult. So this is going to be a big time of cleansing.
Tulip_Petals_Red_copy Since I am moving to an apartment in–presumably–the KC Metro area, it will be much easier than it was when I moved to San Diego or New York City to actually go through my things a little at a time and clean everything out. Good news is that my boyfriend has told me he will hang out with me a few times so I can go through my things for hours. He is a great example of life void of hoarding, so he will be one of the best people to help me detach sentiment from my belongings. Super excited to get that going on a nice weekend. (Perhaps this weekend? Yee!)
Tulip_Petals_Red_copy Meditate more regularly. I really enjoy yoga, and I had to use a meditation tape to get to sleep for a long time in high school. I think it would be very helpful for me to integrate both of these practices into my lifestyle a little more. I am all about multi tasking, so yoga with a meditation sequence would be ideal for me.
Tulip_Petals_Red_copy I will keep a lot of clothes. This is obvious. So when I move, I would like to purchase more of those vacuum seal bags that came in handy when I moved to either coast so I can store my heavier winter items in a more efficient way. That way, I won’t be leaving them scattered around my parents’ house. I need to take ownership of everything, no matter what season it is.
Tulip_Petals_Red_copy My desktop computer needs to go through a cleanse and another backup. Since my laptop is almost inoperable, it will be very important for me to go through and back everything up again and delete what I don’t need anymore. I also need to create more #TBTs out of the content that is stored from my laptop. College material is some of my best work.
Tulip_Petals_Red_copy Once I move, I intend to bring fresh flowers into my apartment regularly. I also want to start my own herb garden (and perhaps some vegetables!) in due time so that I can flavor my cocktails, foods, and teas with natural flavorings instead of heavy syrups.
Tulip_Petals_Red_copy When I move, I am also going to set up a good little library with the books I have. But I am looking to devote a shelf or a corner to my self-improvement material. This will have my favorite candle, perhaps my chandelier, my binders and books from the programs and studies I have been involved in as of late, and my yoga mat. I now see the value in having a shrine devoted to the betterment of oneself. (It will also be ideal to take Instagram photos. Duh.)
Tulip_Petals_Red_copy As I have done it before, I would like to continue to consume steamed water and lemon every morning as routine, whether I am going to the gym in the AM or not. It was a really good thing for me to get that instant hydration and balance.
Tulip_Petals_Red_copy I need to take more advantage of the sun when the good weather is vibing. Outdoor writing and reading sessions are on the horizon!
Tulip_Petals_Red_copy I always talk about long walks in good weather and discovering new places. I feel like the next few weeks will really give me a chance to get out and walk around. There’s a hiking trail up by Smithville Lake I have been meaning to try, and my boyfriend enjoys looking for fossils. So perhaps that’s on the agenda for Spring Cleansing?
Tulip_Petals_Red_copy Wear high heels when I clean. Again, multi-tasking.
Tulip_Petals_Red_copy Go back through my makeup. I do this relatively consistently to get rid of old things. I just really need to do it again.
Tulip_Petals_Red_copy Figure out where all the cords I have go. If it seems inoperable (like all my old phone cords I just recycled), then I need to get rid of it. If it is identifiable, then I need to wrap it up and put a label on it. All for the sake of organization and easy access, people!
Tulip_Petals_Red_copy It’s time to wash my sheets again.
Tulip_Petals_Red_copy In that respect–while I’m thinking of it–I should probably do a load or two of laundry.
Tulip_Petals_Red_copy I would very much enjoy crafting again. On the agenda? Making a quilt out of old high school shirts. Then on the agenda? Making a quilt out of old college shirts. Then again on the agenda? Making a quilt/pillows out of concert shirts I don’t wear enough. This will take some time, but I promised myself that I would do it too long ago not to start NOW. (Plus, it will make moving a lot easier if I don’t have to tote Tupperware bins full of shirts around.)
Tulip_Petals_Red_copy Cook more out of my cookbooks. People have been very kind to me in the past, and I have acquired several very delectable little bits of info on how to make really good food. I was cooking for a while with my Skinny Dip material, but my boyfriend gave me THUG KITCHEN recently. I need a reason to laugh. And a reason to consume only the highest quality of food.

Leave a Reply

