Manifest Monday 6: The Ways In Which I Can Love Others

I’m not going to lie, this prompt alarmed me. Not only was it confusing, but why would I want to work on loving others? I’m supposed to be working on loving myself… so what the heck? I’m not sure how long this post will be, but let’s start it off… Ways In Which I Can Love Others.

Screen Shot 2014-11-10 at 10.23.28 AMTulip_Petals_Red_copyI will continue to put all of my thought and creative abilities into this gift-giving season, and all of the ones to follow. Luckily enough, I have been nurtured into gifting well. Almost as well as my sister.
Tulip_Petals_Red_copyI’d like to compliment women more. It’s second nature to just immediately judge a person. I’ll be the first person to admit that I often judge you off the bat, then SOMETIMES allow you to work into my good graces. It may still be that way, but the good ones always shine through. So I will really make an effort to compliment more women–whether it’s on their style, something they said, or the way they did something. Women are torn down way too much in our society and if I’m thinking it, I should probably be saying it.
Tulip_Petals_Red_copyI’d like to keep up sending random cards to people I admire or am thinking of at the time. I started this practice several months ago, and I’ll go through spurts. If you don’t get a card from me, it doesn’t mean that I don’t love you. But sometimes they come out of the blue as well. It’s nice to receive snail mail and to know someone is thinking of you.
Tulip_Petals_Red_copyI will continue to smile at random passersby on the street. In NYC, it was very rare to get a smile out of anyone. But if you take the time to stop and smile, or ask someone how their day is going, it will warm their heart so much.

Unless they’re a crazy man on the subway who then goes on to rant about how you are the devil and how you must be “taken care of” so that the world may have no harm come upon it. Not that that’s every happened to me.6
Tulip_Petals_Red_copyI can apologize. Although, perhaps I apologize too much in some situations. So, I can apologize whole-heartedly for things I am actually sorry for. And calm down on apologizing for the small things.
Tulip_Petals_Red_copyI can make conversation in line at the grocery store. Or at the post office. Or at the bank. I thoroughly enjoy learning about people–even if I won’t see them again. It’s fun to make them smile. I used to leave the Trader Joe’s in NYC knowing the cashiers’ life stories. I got made fun of because of it, but whatever.
Tulip_Petals_Red_copyI can put more thought into meal planning on a regular basis for my hard-working parents. My new schedule at work allows for some time to do so, and I need to take advantage of it.
Tulip_Petals_Red_copyI can attempt to hold less grudges. 
Tulip_Petals_Red_copyI can continue to work on my patience. The last few years have been big for me in this category. 
Tulip_Petals_Red_copyI can have more faith in humanity. Or at least more hope for it.
Tulip_Petals_Red_copyI can accept compliments/love from others. I get awkward. But that really needs to stop. People are taking time out of their day to address positive things about me, and I really should be gracious.
Tulip_Petals_Red_copyI can stress less about money when I am treating friends and loved ones. 
Tulip_Petals_Red_copyI can stress less about money when treating myself. Self love is big love. I deserve it sometimes.
Tulip_Petals_Red_copyI can be open to mentoring others and giving advice when it is asked of me. 
Tulip_Petals_Red_copyI should ask for what I need when I need it. Cowering away from help and trying to do everything on my own displays a skewed sense of pride. Not necessary. Sometimes you need a place to lean.
Tulip_Petals_Red_copyI can display random acts of kindness more regularly. 
Tulip_Petals_Red_copyI can be randomly impulsive to show trust in others and myself. Trust is love, baby!
Tulip_Petals_Red_copyThank you notes.
Tulip_Petals_Red_copyI can continue to call people. I’m not a phone person, but sometimes it’s important.
Tulip_Petals_Red_copyI can meditate on other peoples’ futures and send good vibes their way.
Tulip_Petals_Red_copyI can work on collaborations with people I adore.
Tulip_Petals_Red_copyI can give without expecting anything in return. I always really have. Except at Christmas. Christmas makes me greedy. (I’m working on it, MOM!)
Tulip_Petals_Red_copyForgiveness. Cuz it’s more than saying sorry.

(Anyone? Bueller?)

Leave a Reply

