Throwback Thursday: You’re Never Fully Dressed Without A Smile

I came across a personal statement I wrote in November of 2007 (Once again, my senior year of high school). Apparently I’ve always enjoyed making people smile. How crazy is it to look back on memories and thoughts and writings and realize that–although you are a completely different person than you once were–there are strings of consistency in your life that really make up the fabric of who you are?

Get it? Strings? Fabric? Meh?

I love that I wrote this.

Screen Shot 2014-11-10 at 10.23.00 AM

As cliché as it may sound, I live to make people smile.  When my friends, family, or even acquaintances are emitting negative emotions, I am always there to listen to them.  In that way, I have been able to dispense rather high-quality advice, in turn teaching myself basic guidelines to “survival” in life.  Throughout my entire life, I have put everyone else’s best interests before my own and so far, it has led me to a pretty fulfilling existence.  My primary ambition in life is to continue to make people smile; to create an impact on a myriad of peoples’ lives so powerful that I will have lived up to my fullest potential.

My dream career would be a professional singer.  I am not sure that I would like to be the big, arena sell-out kind of sensation as many amazing artists are, but I would love to travel and sing.  Of course it would be wonderful for me to perform at small, intimate venues and be known relatively well, but my desire is to put my music and my voice out there for people to enjoy.  I would love to inspire people the way my most beloved bands and lyrics have inspired me.  Music is my existence; it has been since I was just one year old.  Music is the glue that holds my life together when it feels like everything is disintegrating.  I crave the ability to provide that “glue” for other people; I yearn to persistently make people smile on a larger scale.

More than anything, I would love to keep my sense of humor, and for it to naturally develop as I age.  Up to this point in my life, I have been able to keep a loose sense of humor, knowing when it is appropriate to laugh and when it is inappropriate to even insinuate a laugh.  I am even willing to put myself out there and laugh at myself when it is appropriate so that my closest friends have an outlet to enjoy life to its fullest.

I am what others refer to as a “goofball”.  My friends have characterized me specifically as “spontaneous”, “energetic”, “fun”, “quirky”, “creative”, “sympathetic”, and “intelligent”, among other things.  When people around me are feeling “out of touch”, not only am I able to give them advice, but I am also willing to do almost anything in my power to make them laugh.  The most fulfilling part about being sympathetic is experiencing a genuine giggle from the people who are closest to me.  When I am able to contribute to the smile of even just one individual, my day becomes instantly brighter.  If I could choose one ambition to strive for during the remainder of my life, it would be to maintain this wonderful ability to make people smile.  That, in itself, is the biggest reward I could ever bestow upon myself.

___

Yes, I stole a camera to take a photo of myself in 2006. It is the photo that you see above. Laugh as you see fit.

Leave a Reply

