Be Royal.

Today marks the first time in my lifetime that the Kansas City Royals will have post-season play.
IT’S BEEN 29 YEARS.
Kansas Citians are ready for this crazy drought to be completely over. We want to see our hometown teams play–and succeed.                                                                                                                                           We want bragging rights, dammit!

As most of you know, I have never really been a baseball fan. I grew up on basketball and football, and often enjoy a good round of golf over sitting and watching hours and hours of men with chewing tobacco in their mouths hit balls and stand around. It’s just not my cup of tea. But in the last year or so, I have been going to games and getting into the hometown spirit. Tailgates, Royals t-shirts, and pano photos of my seat location can be evidenced all over my social media. Why? Because it’s fun. And I feel like I’m experiencing life. It’s giving me an avenue to be more social, and to be excited about something.

Even though we all know I’m most likely slobbering on someone’s shoulder by the fourth inning.

Who knows how today will turn out? The Oakland A’s are currently 88-74 and we are 89-73. I wouldn’t exactly say we’ve got a leg up by any means. But we’re here. And maybe it isn’t too much to get excited about, but it’s something.

Especially since I still won’t cheer for the Chiefs to any capacity. (We’re looking for things to SMILE about, though. So no rant will come forth from my fingers here.)

What team(s) are you rooting for right now?

GO ROYALS! BE ROYAL.

Leave a Reply

