Throwback Thursday: Carmen

A short conversation with a friend about how my week started (Horribly, might I add?) led me to realize how freakin’ hilarious I have been my entire life. So I’ve decided to dig through the ol’ archives and bring out some old assignment writing I have done since the beginning of time. Perhaps “Throwback Thursday” isn’t quite original (It really isn’t, I checked.), but it gives me a reason to recycle some of my vintage awesomeness (Can it be considered vintage?) and impress everyone with my eloquent writing from years past.

When I was a junior in high school, my first hour of the day was ACCP Spanish 3. In May of 2007, we were offered extra credit to go see the ballet “Carmen” which was showing in downtown KCMO. So, we took advantage of that opportunity (I believe it was the same day of cheer tryouts). The paper did not have to be written in Spanish. The following is what I wrote.

___

Carmen

The ballet Carmen was the main attraction downtown this weekend for several groups of people, including the ever-popular students from Senor Magerfleisch’s classes at St. Pius who attended for culture points as a last minute resort.  Surprisingly enough, Carmen was more than just the mediocre that many expected it to be.

The tone of the theater was actually quite casual at first glance.  After throwing away a large amount of ice from a Route 44 limeade from Sonic (which was a complete waste of such amazing ice) due to insecurities about the expectations of the theater, Mary, Erin, and I bought our tickets, which were surprisingly close and just slightly left of the stage.  We saw a lot of our friends, and ended up sitting next to Maggie Finn and Kit Klockau for the duration of the ballet.

The first prelude was rather alright.  The tutus were expected, but it was rather long and I was unsure as to whether it was actually a part of the ballet.  It seemed to me as though maybe the play was being introduced to the audience with the more modern feel of tutus and crowns, and after about fifteen minutes of tirelessly attempting to analyze the movement on the stage, I gave up and there was a curtain call.

The second prelude was really confusing.  Once again, I thought it was a part of the actual ballet and began to analyze the appearance of seemingly naked men and a woman onstage.  I was confused because I knew that these people were in the actual ballet, because I had read the program before.  After about ten minutes of overanalyzing I drifted off to sleep, to the amusement of my peers, and woke up about half an hour later while the men had the woman in the air, as if floating in the spotlight.  It was really pretty cool, but I was so concerned that it was actually a part of Carmen that I did not really understand it at all.

During intermission, Mary and I found out that the two previous acts had only been preludes.  At that point, I felt like a complete idiot and did not really desire to stay any longer.  However, the ballet actually began.  This time I knew it was the actual ballet because there was a man playing the guitar (rather beautifully, might I add) and a flamenco dancer.  The flamenco dancer was playing the castanets, and that part of the ballet became my favorite.  The music was amazing.  The plotline was semi-confusing because I am not used to watching a play without words.  The dancing was incredible, however, and my favorite parts were actually the fight scenes because the dancers were able to evoke a sense of violence within the grace of their movements.  The acting was alright, but I must say that my least favorite character was actually Carmen.  I was able to draw from the movements that she liked two men, one more prestigious than the other, and that she chose the prestigious one (the matador) because of his power.  I was, quite frankly, a bit happy when the poorer of the two sought revenge and finally killed Carmen.

Leave a Reply

