The “Summer Effect”

I had a completely different blog post scheduled, but decided to change it up.

IT’S EARTH DAY, EARTH PEOPLE! Earth Day always makes me stop to consider the fingerprint I’m leaving in the world around me–earthy or otherwise. While I was walking from the law library down the street (yet again), I found that my steps were light and bouncy. The wind played with my skirt and my bright shoes were catching double takes from the people walking around me. Plus, these bangs just make me feel like I’m rockin’ it. Like, errday. So here I am, clutching law information to my chest and just feeling super smiley when I remembered a narrative quote from one of my favorite movies. AHEM.

Summer Finn was a woman. Height: average. Weight: average. Shoe Size: slightly above average. For all intents and purposes, Summer Finn: just another girl. Except she wasn’t. To wit, in 1998, Summer quoted a song by the Scottish band Belle & Sebastian in her high school yearbook. “Color my life with the chaos of trouble.” The spike in Michigan sales of their album “The Boy with the Arab Strap” continues to puzzle industry analysts. Summer’s employment at The Daily Freeze during the summer of her sophomore year coincided with an inexplicable 212% increase in revenue. Every apartment Summer rented had an average rate of 9.2% below market value, and her roundtrip commute to work averaged 18.4 double-takes per day. It was a rare quality, this “Summer effect.”

I might not be an earth mother. I recycle. I helped start the recycling program at my grade school (of course my mom spearheaded it) and that makes me awesome. I try to go green. Hell, I even drink green tea and matcha! But I don’t expect to lead a revolution with that stuff. What I do expect of myself is to have a positive aura about me as much as humanly possible. I want to positively affect the space I am inhabiting at any given time. I want the “Summer effect”.

Maybe it’s the bangs that have given me my new found confidence. I feel very Zooey Deschanel and I’m loving it. Now I just need to Mary Tyler-Moore it up ALL THE TIME so I can improve my quality of life and try to give the people around me something to look forward to.

That’s my Earth Day thought. How do you want to improve the world around you?

Leave a Reply

