Palm Reading: Reading Of The Palm

As I mentioned last week, I was going through Gala Darling’s posts and I’m more than a little obsessed. Who knew my sister would be the one to find it and love it before me? I’m supposed to be the hipster one here! Anyway, I came across a palm reading post. And I love it. A lot. So I decided to examine my own palm (while at work, of course), and the following are my results. Check them out! And go read your friends’ palms. I might start charging to read palms while I do hair and makeup. (Can’t be that bad of a gig, right?)

___

According to the descriptions provided, I have overwhelmingly fire hands. “Fire hands have a square or rectangular palm, flushed or pink skin, and shorter fingers. The length of the palm is usually greater than the length of the fingers. Fire hand types are energetic and always on the go. They need variety, and can be a little impatient and intolerant! People with Fire hands are often fiercely individual, and make great leaders.” However, I do have long fingers–although they are not as long as my palms–so I do identify with air hands as well. “Air types are very intellectual, always curious and full of ideas. They practically hum with nervous energy, and can be prone to worry and stress. People with Air hands are great communicators, but they can internalise their feelings too much. This can lead to difficulties within their close relationships.” I’d say both descriptions align with my personality a little too well, so we can stick with that. (Agree? Disagree? Let me know in the COMMENTS below!)

I get really bad circulation to my extremities. It’s a thing. Maybe I’m in bad health, but it is what it is. My twin sister is the same way, so perhaps we are broken. “If your hands are cold, you are generous, reserved and a bit of a hermit!” Well, I go through hermit stages. And I’m definitely generous. So SURE!

**While I have been looking through this, I have engaged in conversation with Carl who works in IT at this building. He and I have decided to take a Palmistry class and have our own tarot card/palm reading business. They’re not as common here in Kansas City, and we believe we would make a killing at weddings and after proms. I have also been lucky enough to learn about eating green from a security guard named Peter, and will be reading a book per his suggestion. The silly things that happen when I am trying to selfishly concentrate on something!**

Right Hand (Actuality)

“If it starts somewhere in between your first finger and your middle finger, you fall in love easily!” This is so not true at all. Maybe “in love” means I give my heart away easily, which I guess is true. But I give it to my friends and I have had it broken a lot just by friends and acquaintances. (Womp womp) . “A long, curvy heart line means you express your feelings with ease and tact.” My, oh my is this correct! Especially in writing, of course. (Right? Am I write? Ha!) “A broken heart line, or small lines crossing your heart line, shows emotional trauma of some kind.”

The head line shows your intellect or wisdom. In general, a curvy line denotes creativity and spontaneity, while a straight line favours practicality and structure.” My line has a very subtle curve. I have been known to be creative with a flair for structure. So that would explain that. “If your head line is separated from your life line, it means you have a lust for life and an unquenchable thirst for adventure!” Truth. Almost unquenchable, finance depending.

“A wide, curvy life line shows that you have plenty of energy. If it swoops in a semi-circle, you are strong and enthusiastic.” All of the above, please? Seriously, if you ask any of my friends what kind of personality I have, they’d tend toward the boisterous. And I am not ashamed in the slightest. “A long, deep life line shows your inner vitality. A break in the line shows major changes in lifestyle.” If I knew what “inner vitality” meant, I’d probably love it. When I was in my sorority, my special sorority name meant that I had a zest for life. I’ll agree that I am well-rounded and have a very open mind. I have also had several major changes in lifestyle. I mean, if you count packing up and moving to both coasts within a few short years a major change. I’m about ready for my next major change, and my left hand reflects that it could happen!

On both hands, my fate line isn’t distinct. It looks to be a series of shallow lines that resemble a tree branch. Gala Darling tells me that not everyone has a fate line, and that that is perfectly alright. If I were to examine it as a little, tiny tree branch, however, I might examine it as follows… “If there are a lot of breaks in your fate line, it means that external forces will change your life many times. A fate line that is joined to the life line shows that you are an aspirational, self-made babe. If your fate line starts at the base of your palm, you will find yourself in the public eye often!” I do work my ass off and am in the public eye quite a bit, however small my “public” scale is. But I have potential to grow and make a name for myself, which was noted in the examination of my left hand as well!

Mounts

Thumb.  “A high Venus mount shows someone who can be promiscuous and overindulgent. Sometimes they can become obsessed with instant gratification.” This is downright depressing. I can’t think every result will be the most positive, though! I’m not promiscuous at all and I wouldn’t describe myself as overindulgent. (Unless you count the fact that I eat ice cream like I’m going through a breakup once a week, but I digress.) But I also know I am very impatient, so perhaps the whole “instant gratification” isn’t too far off. I’ve been working really hard on it, though, and I do think that it’s a sign of respect to mind other peoples’ time and efforts to an extent. Does this make me obsessed? Probably not. But I won’t harp on it too much. (Or will I?)

Index finger. “A low or flat Jupiter mount means you don’t have much self-confidence.” Self-explanatory. Sad, but true. This is how comedians thrive, and I wouldn’t be a happy person unless I stopped and laughed at myself.

Middle finger. “A high Saturn mount shows stubbornness, a tendency to be alone, depressed, cynical and shy.” Alright. I got this on both hands. So I’ll save you the explanation below. I get it. I know how I am. Do you know what I have to say to that? MIDDLE FINGERS UP! 🙂

Ring finger. Mine is the same for both. It is a combination of high and middle. Because it couldn’t decide which way it wanted to go. (Commitment issues, I guess?) “A high Sun mount means that you are a prideful person, who loves to flatter others, can be extravagant, but can be quick-tempered. A normal Sun mount shows someone who is adaptable, outgoing and self-confident.”

Pinky. “A low mount of Mercury shows someone who is shy, unable to communicate, and may not make a lot of money.” WHAT THE HECK? What is all of this about me being shy? I mean, I guess I am unless I am familiar with a person. OK. Cool. But it’s not some overwhelming truth. I can make it work! And I am SUPER able to communicate. Sometimes I OVER communicate. Perhaps that’s what my fingers are getting at, huh? And no, I don’t make a lot of money. But I do have very acceptable spending habits and I am super responsible with what little money I do have! I just really need to make enough to move out of my parents’ house. Ya dig?

Side of hand. “A high Moon mount points to someone who lives so much in their imagination that it crowds out all sense of reality. If you have a well-defined Moon mount, you have extraordinary creative abilities. You love the arts, are compassionate, and have psychic abilities.” My right hand’s moon mount is SUPER high. And I do live in my imagination, but have been considered a realist mostly. I am extremely artsy, however. And guess what? I KNEW my crazy roommate was right about me being psychic! But seriously, I do have crazy awesome psychic tendencies.

Fingers

I have very thin, long fingers. My thumbs have thin bases and the pads on them are considered long. They look big on my hands, but that’s like a baby with a normal sized head. It just looks like a bobble head! So I don’t know that I can really assess my thumbs on a regular scale. It makes me nervous. But let’s go ahead and check the rest of these shenanigans out. “Long fingers show someone who is anxious, delicate, good-looking and well-mannered.” Hey, hey hey!! “Long fingernails mean you are kind and you’re good at keeping secrets! If they’re long and thin, you are quite psychic, and easily annoyed!”

My nails aren’t a specific shape. So I went ahead and decided I’m a mixture. Or none. They’re quite rectangular, but they’re rounded off. So is that really almond shaped? I should have just taken photos of my hands and shown all of you, but I feel like someone would get super into this palmistry thing and tell me how wrong I was about everything! And as a person who has a fear of always being wrong, I’m thinking bad idea. Yes?

____

Left Hand (Potential)

“If your heart line starts under your index finger, you have a satisfying love life.” Alright! So eventually this could totally happen! “A long, curvy heart line means you express your feelings with ease and tact.” So potentially I could express my feelings with ease and tact. Well, I do plan on doing this for the rest of my life. I mean, I was a communication studies major. “A broken heart line, or small lines crossing your heart line, shows emotional trauma of some kind.”

Of course, there is no head line on my left hand. So I guess this means I have no potential for intellect or wisdom?

“A wide, curvy life line shows that you have plenty of energy. If it swoops in a semi-circle, you are strong and enthusiastic.” Good. I have potential to continue to be awesome. “A long, deep life line shows your inner vitality. A break in the line shows major changes in lifestyle.”

As stated above: “”If there are a lot of breaks in your fate line, it means that external forces will change your life many times. A fate line that is joined to the life line shows that you are an aspirational, self-made babe. If your fate line starts at the base of your palm, you will find yourself in the public eye often!”

Mounts

Thumb. “A normal, well-developed Venus mount denotes a person who is influential, and passionate about the arts.” On my left hand, this shows potential for that artsy-hipster lifestyle, does it not? (BANGS!)

Index finger. “If your Jupiter mount has a normal height, you are intelligent, and an ambitious, natural leader.” Good! I still have potential to be intelligent! I will admit, I’m not the leader in real life that I was growing up in school. I think once I find something that truly engages me, you won’t be able to stop it!

Side of hand. My left hand’s moon mount is a little shorter than my right hand’s, but not enough to really change the definition of what it all means.

___
With the amazing, short version of information that Gala Darling provided, I have been able to see some qualities I might not otherwise associate with myself. We are our own worst critics, but the first to defend ourselves often. Because even the road to hell is paved with good intentions. Have I rattled off enough clichés yet? I feel like Mr. Griffith in Easy A. Let’s not.
So go now and learn about yourself. And let me know what outstanding traits you possess! Then let’s be friends. (Unless you’re missing a life line or something.)

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

