MOH Speech

I’m a badass. Just like any MOH, I wrote a riveting speech that moved many to tears. But I might be the only person in the history of ever to end an MOH speech the way I did. Feast your eyes.

Erin. In order to keep my tough exterior, I don’t often tell you what it means to have you in my life. I really, truly was given my best friend at birth. We’ve been through so many things together. Growing up, moving, sports, extra curriculars, people watching. Singing “Story of a Girl” in a crowded restaurant in Texas with the other Schneiders. Celebrating the 4th of July in London by drinking pints of cider ale, eating fish and chips, and seeing two broadway shows. How very British of us. Having our Christmas tree Grinched-stolen-at the beach house. (Don’t worry, we replaced it.) eating Burger King repeatedly at Sundance Film Festival because we werent 21 and couldn’t go into actual restaurants. Partying on the Intrepid at Stephest Colbchella in New York.

We’ve shared ideas and I’ve piggy-backed off of most of yours. We have been roommates and classmates and teammates. We have even had friends argue that we’re soulmates. But not the cool kind. The kind whose soul is literally split in half.

This whole time, you’ve never been afraid to be yourself. Every time you cross the threshold at Disneyland, you’re face lights up and you’re five years old for the entire day. And you still have a fascination for Julie Andrews. (Didn’t she look just like Maria Von Trapp today, guys? Wow!) you’re the best gift giver because you pay attention and give from the heart. You’re classy, “shining, shimmering, splendid” with an eye for adventure and an old soul. “Tranquil as a forest, but on fire within.” And I admire you.

For the last few months, one of the gyms Erin and I have been going to is right across the street from Kemper Arena. I spend every yoga class thinking about how my life basically began there. My parents met at Kemper. Erin and Tim met in high school and didn’t become close until later. It’s crazy to think about how you got to where you are. I just want everyone to take a second to appreciate the small moments that led us here, to tonight. Together.

Erin and Tim, appreciate geometry class.

Here’s to my new brother, the man who made my Sisto’s heart melt. And here’s to your fairy tale. Because now “We are all connected to each other. In a circle, in a hoop that never ends.”

Mmmbop.

I was nervous. I deviated from the script a bit and I can’t honestly say I remember being up there for all of it. But I want it to be a lesson and a reminder to myself to deviate from the script every once in a while. Live life on the edge.

I left the office early today to work from a coffee shop and eat a giant snicker doodle. Deviation could give you diabetes, but it’s worth it. >

Leave a Reply

