It’s not a resolution.

I’m not going to write a “New Year, New YOU!” post. I’m the same person. I didn’t even watch the ball drop this year. Of course, that was an accident. What else are you going to do when it’s you and three guys playing pool and watching football? They have control. Don’t pretend you do! But it made me realize that any day is the start to a new year. If I want to make a new life for myself starting on March 19th, then I can start then and give myself to the next March 19th. And no one is going to tell me I’m wrong. Ya dig?

Anyway, I didn’t have resolutions. I always want to be a better person, but you can’t get much more awesome than where I’m at right now. Yup. Working freelance and part-time. Living in my childhood room (yes, still), and applying to jobs daily. Applying to jobs IS a full-time job. For all of those hiring managers out there, I hope you realize that and give your applicants more credit. I have been trying to keep my spirits up. My family is healthy and I still have a boyfriend (*gasp!* I know, huh?). Because of proximity, I know that “don’t fight with my family” is an unrealistic expectation as a resolution. Sometimes we want to rip each others’ heads off. That’s okay.

I guess what I really want to say is, here’s to the New Year. Be you, whether it’s a new “you” or not. Use your head and your heart to make decisions. Don’t let people bring you down (all the time). If you need a good cry, schedule a night where you can drink wine, be mostly alone, and cry in the shower. I’m not above admitting I’ve done it. Breathe a little. (Just not in the negative degree weather. You’ll stop breathing and I don’t need that on my conscience.) Enjoy where you’re at. I don’t regret moving home from NYC because I am still figuring life out and I feel far less flounder-y here. Yeah. That’s a good way to put it.

I love you guys. And I promise to be better at blogging more frequently.

But that’s not a resolution.

Leave a Reply

