Erin’s Bridal Shower Extravaganza!

So this past week has been a whirlwind. The lucky Schneiders got a visit from our dearest (and oldest… but not OLDEST) friend Allison. She flew in on Thanksgiving, narrowly missing Schneider Family Thanksgiving festivities (Whew!). We got to spend the evening with our immediate family and Allison, and then were surrounded by our loves (Destin, Tim, Dustin, Jennie, Allison, Ryan, & Carrie) on Thanksgiving night at Erin’s new house. It was a comfy and wine-filled evening!

IMG_3687

Of course, there was Black Friday shopping. This time it was by accident. Around 1am, we (Allison, Erin, Tim, Paul Lazar, and I) went to Zona Rosa so Erin and Tim could get the discounted Yogurtini to-go carriers. We happened upon Charming Charlie’s (and my brother and one of his friends) so, of course, shenanigans ensued. It was quite entertaining! Then on Friday afternoon, we tripped to The Plaza and got even more things we probably didn’t need. I’ll even admit we mostly shopped for ourselves. But it is what it is. (P.S. You truly can’t leave your house without seeing someone you know. So always dress accordingly. This is more a message for me than anyone else.)

IMG_3707 IMG_3708

Friday night was spent baking and prepping for Saturday morning. And drinking and twerking (see: below). It was really fun, and I couldn’t have asked for better company during my stress fest!

IMG_3713 IMG_3715

Saturday morning was so much fun. Erin and Allison left early to get their hair done, and mom and I put casseroles in to bake and set up dishware, etc. Dad even helped! And, of course, I wasn’t completely made-up by the time people arrived, so Great Aunt Marilyn, Jennie, Allison, and Diane Ooton helped put everything together in the kitchen last minute while I touched up my hair.

IMG_0631 IMG_0636

People arrived and, after the initial awkwardness of a big party full of people who don’t necessarily know each other, I’d like to say everyone had fun! I had a mimosa bar (orange juice, apple cider, cranberry juice, and blackberries!) so there was plenty of alcohol, there were food items out the wa-zoo (brownies, rice krispies, cinnamon rolls, crescents, egg and sausage casserole, french toast casserole, pineapple, grapes, pumpkin spice muffins, etc.). I think we did pretty well. Plus, I provided each guest with a tea cup, some tea with heart shaped “E+T” tags on them (that I hand-made. Woof.), a tea light candle, and bookmarks with music playlists (created by the bridesmaids) and URLs to Erin’s blog and her wedding website on the back. Yes, I hand made all of the bookmarks as well. I know. I’m the best maid of honor ever.

IMG_0773

I left cards out for guests to write marriage advice for the bride on. We played a game where I asked everyone to answer 9 questions (Erin’s lucky #) about Erin. The 3 with the most answers won Mary Kay gifts (provided by my amazing mother, of course!). Jennie, Riley, Denise, and Michelle tied for the most answers right (7!), so Erin drew 3 names from a teacup for prizes. Sorry, Jennie. Erin opened gifts and people chatted and we got photos of her with everyone there. It was truly a very fun and relaxing morning. Once I was able to sit down and enjoy some of the–then cold–food I prepared. But in all honesty, I could not be more thankful for the support system and happiness that surrounds myself, my family, and my sister on a regular basis. We are so blessed, and it’s days like Saturday that really bring that to life.

IMG_0787 IMG_0783

 

Leave a Reply

