I Couldn’t Be Pregnant That Long…

Alright. It’s been a week since I’ve posted anything at all. It’s been a crazy week. I’ve been busy and happy and I’ve just really been away from computers for the most part. Which is incredible, if you ask me! So tomorrow’s post will be a catch up on my life over the last week. In the meantime…

I know my sister already posted about this, but I can’t help it. Today is a very big day for one of my very best friends. Today, Jennifer Aurelia Newcomer Wooten (and her magnificent husband Troy) welcome their first child, Jamie Michelle, into the world.  If you had told me six years ago when I was a senior in high school that Jenny and Troy would be married, I’d can’t say I’d be surprised. They were so different but so perfect together, and I couldn’t be happier that they found each other. But I also can’t say that I would see Jenny having a child at age 23. She’s always been whacky and crazy and fun and it never occurred to me that she would want to settle down so quickly. And I definitely didn’t see Troy settled down and so happy at this point (I hope no one kills me for admitting that). But looking at them now–together–it all makes more sense than my little brain could have ever predicted. And I’m so happy.

I’ll go ahead and admit something else. Sometimes I am not happy with those two. They’re always busy. They’re such positive, amazing people making such an impact on the world that their free time is little and far between. We didn’t go to school anywhere near each other, which cut out seeing them during our college years. Then I did that thing where I moved to New York when they were here, but they’re so loved that even though I have now been back in KC for a year, I feel like we never see each other. And I used to think that was a bad thing. I might even get bitter every now and then. But that’s because I love these two people so much and I am happy for them, but I’m also selfish and want to steal some of there time. Can you really blame me? (Remember, I bawled at their wedding because I knew I was leaving for NYC again and wouldn’t see them for a while. And that was way later during the reception… after I cried a little during the ceremony.)

I’ve been so happy for them throughout this entire pregnancy that I haven’t been able to stop and–in essence–feel sorry for myself about my lack of time with them. They’re just being little nesters and making it very, very cute. Plus my other best friend Michelle had a child four years ago, and that didn’t change the amount of time we spent together. It actually probably made it so that I could spend more time with her. Friendships as strong as ours don’t falter with major, incredible life changes. If anything, they grow stronger. Every tiny bit of time we get together is that much more meaningful. Not to get all sappy, by I really do love Jenny and Troy.

So Jamie is now overdue. About an hour ago, Jenny made her last post on Facebook before the birth. My boyfriend Destin has officially named today “Birthwatch 2013” (which makes sense with all the Facebook updates, comments, and likes). I can’t imagine what it’s going to be like now when they baby is around. I’m sure no matter where I end up in this world, I will never miss a moment of Jamie’s life. Which is comforting. And it’s well deserved of the parents. It’s been a long process for the Wootens, and they are coming out of it on October 9th with a healthy baby girl. They have named her after Jenny’s grandfather who passed last winter–James–and our mutual best friend Michelle.

So I just went on a rant and told you everything I’ve been thinking. Yes, I’ve had my selfish moments but in the end, it’s all about my two wonderful friends and the beautiful family they have. And I couldn’t be more proud or more excited for them. Happy Birthday, Jamie!

P.S. Today IS all about Marion Newcomer. That is all.

Leave a Reply

