Relationships? What?!

Hello all of my fun and dear friends! I just want to take a second and thank everyone for following me and taking an interest in my life (and my daily struggles with words). It’s been a whirlwind few years, and the stories I have and the friends I’ve made have made everything–even the rough times–totally worth it. So, without further ado, I’d like to announce the beginning of another 30 Day Blog Challenge! This is more a series of fun writing prompts that I found online and less of a career-driven challenge. A bit of a change, but totally fits in with my blog title. It’s time to express more things to smile about!

___

Prompt #1: Explain your relationship status.

Guys. In June I officially got my first boyfriend. Ever. At the ripe old age of 23. I met him at a concert on April 6, and our opening lines involved ridiculous amounts of sarcasm. So, in a nutshell, it was very “Meredith”. Now, I’m not one to gush but many of you know that we have talked every day sincee we met and, later that week, he surprised me at work with one of my favorite flavors of coffee and a gorgeous flower in a bud vase. He shopped locally for both, special ordered the coffee based on a flavor I had gotten earlier in the week (white chocolate raspberry mocha), and chose the flower because it had yellow in it (my favorite color). Many of you also know that, because I am not cheesy and oftentimes void of emotion, I chose to be more embarrassed of the situation than elated based on the way my coworkers made fun of me for the rest of the day.

But the kid grew on me. And I let someone be nice to me. And I learned it’s ok to do that.

He asked me to be his girlfriend when I had known him for 16 days. I know a lot of people don’t do that anymore–ask permission–and he never really had before with anyone else, but it shows how much respect he had for my opinion. And guess what? I rejected him. He was sweet and awkward and nervous and I still said no. I knew him pretty well at this point, but I required time. And he was hurt but after a long explanation, he understood. And, once again, he respected my decision.

I have learned a lot about relationships by observation over the years. I have witnessed one of the strongest bonds I have ever known–my parents–go through rough patches and come out on top. I have seen my friends get their hearts broken and also form lifelong friendships and bonds. I may seem naive because I haven’t had a “real relationship” before, but I think I have allowed myself to learn more about people by observation and through friendships than most people ever allow themselves to. So I think I have a lot to contribute to this new “situation”.

But I will admit, it’s fun not being the third or fifth wheel for the first time. And having more things to celebrate. And being able to be goofy with someone else. I like that he still doesn’t have his life totally figured out yet, because I think people are lying if they say they do. I enjoy that we both crave bubble tea often (and indulge ourselves), he loves my dog, and doesn’t make fun of me for loving Hanson or Disney. I like that he understands my pop culture references and is appalled that I haven’t seen some of the cult movies he counts as his favorites. I think it’s funny that we both love American Psycho, and that neither of us think that’s a bad sign about the other. It’s pretty cool that he bought me a motorcycle helmet when he studied abroad in London (don’t worry, I don’t ride it TOO much!), and that he brought me a Belle doll and a book of fairy tales too. This week, when we should have been celebrating his birthday, he bought me a talking Si doll (umm.. HELLO DUCK DYNASTY!). I don’t want to talk more because this post already makes me want to blow chunks. (cue Wayne’s World)

Also, I don’t think I’ll ever fully get into baseball, but those games are becoming less painful to sit through. (I must be going crazy.)

One thought on “Relationships? What?!

Leave a Reply

