Condense, condense, condense…

**Yes, I teach toddlers yoga poses on the weekends.

Condense. Wow I’m dense. I spent a weekend puppy sitting and still didn’t have the capacity to commit to blogging while I was there. I’m a wretched person. If you want to read my adorable twin sister’s Day 17 & 18, then here you are. If you want to read her Day 19, this is it. Now read on for MY genius words. Because what else are you doing?

___

Day 17 Prompt: What three steps can you take to build trust and credibility online for you, your brand and your business?

You know what’s really great about this question? I’ve already been working my ass off to build credibility online. I mean, if you don’t know what I’m talking about, I dabble in just about everything and you can find out what here. I’ve had my fair share of interviews with celebrities, worked in the music, sports, and advertising industries, and have really made a name for myself with the companies I have worked with and written for. You can’t build credibility by sitting behind a computer. You have to go out there and earn it. I have traveled and had the privilege of working for and with companies across the US. Every day I am building my credibility by being a reliable, loyal worker and friend to those around me. It’s not that difficult to be genuine, and I also believe that really comes across in my writing.

___

Day 18 Prompt: What does your dream sales team look like and how will you ensure they help you build your business?

Sales freaks me out. I don’t do it. Well, I have done it. I have worked in sales with people who have believed in me, and I have sold quality products. If I’m working for a commission, I won’t sell you something that isn’t worth your money. I spent a whole summer working at [an unnamed bridal shop] telling people how to SAVE money for their weddings. So much so that I never made the quota to make commission and made minimum wage all summer–which, if you’re wondering, was a pay cut from my previous job and favor to a friend (again, I am loyal). I can do sales. I just don’t like to unless I believe in the product.

That being said, my dream sales team gets me. They understand my sense of humor and can duke it out with my personality just as fierce as I have with previous coworkers. Pop culture reference that dates back before you were born? Doesn’t matter. You get what I’m talking about because you’re well-versed in your pop culture history… and you’re book smart to back up the sass. Sometimes it’s difficult to stick out like a sore thumb (I’m not about to tell you I always attract positive attention), and it’s fun to be surrounded by like-minded individuals. That being said, my team is a bunch of me in different bodies. Or, better yet, my team is all of my best friends.

If you’re reading this, you can be on my team too.

So that makes three of us.

___

Day 19 Prompt: Which methods do you want to use to build your platform and increase your influence?

I love cross promotion. It super seriously helps. I write for BTR and then I write for SO. I write about BTR on SO. I listen to BTR and look for bands I love and then I interview them for SO. I find out about awesome concerts in the area through tour dates on BTR and then I go to the shows and review them for Local Ruckus and SO. Why not take the best of everything I have to make it all that more spectacular?

As it is, I know I will be using my writing to remind people that my sister and I are photographers. My twin is insanely talented and working toward her dreams as a movie producer/director and I couldn’t be more proud. I dabble in too many artsy things to commit to one thing, but I have to keep reminding myself that it is all for the purpose of bettering myself and being support for the community around me.

I met with my friend Kayla this weekend. I introduced her to my favorite coffee shop in the entire world and talked about life. She told me she had just been talking to her mother about my endeavors, as well as my sister’s, and saying how we were going somewhere. How we can already see that Erin is in the right place she needs to be with a full time job that will lead her on to her dream, and how I am going somewhere… no matter how difficult it is to recognize that fact. We’re all doing great things with our lives. I think my method has to be a renewed confidence in myself. I went away to do things and people associate moving away from home with some form of greatness. I was never great. I did great things, sure. But I continue to do great things here. A range of great things. And I have to remember that confidence is key in getting to that next step in life.

My method is confidence.

One thought on “Condense, condense, condense…

Leave a Reply

