Days 12&13 (No, I still can’t catch up!)

Erin is ahead of me again. It’s a race and I’m losing. Check out her blog for her responses to these questions… I’ll get days 14&15 up tomorrow so I’m up to speed!

___

Day 12 Question: What is your USP Unique Special Proposition that sets you apart from the crowd?

You guys. I stared at this for hours, honestly. Any you want to know something? I’ve got confidence in sunshine. I’ve got confidence in rain. I’ve got confidence that spring will come again. Besides what you see, I have confidence in me. Alright, now down to the nitty gritty.

I am unique and different because I provide a quirky blend of empathy, sarcasm, and pop culture savviness which no one else in my field provides. No one else can or will provide this because who puts those three attributes together? I know it’s a pretty common thing for people to handle stressful situations with a sense of humor. That’s awkward. I do that. But I provide something else with said situations: a true perspective. My mom told me in the last couple of years that I learned empathy very young. It’s true. I was about four when empathy really hit me for the first time, and I can really feel for people who are struggling. It actually pains me. It might be seen as a negative attribute, but I’d say it’s something I bring to the table. My sarcasm is fun because I will either make you laugh or really mess with you (but probably make you laugh), and because my mom is a pop-culture diva, so are her children (including her son).

So there you have it! And I wouldn’t take any of it back!

___

Day 13 Question: What three things would you most like your website to have and how will you go about getting them?

I want my website to have more interaction. Sure, I can’t help but smile when one of my three consistent viewers “likes” my post (Kayla, Erin and MOM… I’m talking to you!), and I’m not here to tell you that’s not enough… I just want to encourage intelligent discourse. Intelligent discourse without all the bullshit and fighting that I witness on social media on the daily. No one needs extra negativity from people in cyber space who would otherwise have no idea what was going on in their lives. So I want to make my posts more meaningful. Spend more time on them. Make them more upbeat and ask questions. Because I want to meet incredible people who inspire me. You’re all awesome!

I want my blog to have more of my original artwork and photos. Not everyone knows this, but my lovely twin sister and I own a multi-media company called DoubleTake Productions. And we are awesome at what we do! So I’d like to update my posts with more of our talents (and also update our website more often, but I digress)! So I will!

The last thing I’d like? Really I think I’m stretching here when I say I’d like to get some sort of profit from my writing on this blog. Like I’ve mentioned previously, I do believe in what I have to say and the way that I say it. But there are so many talented writers with incredible blogs and–although I’m not into the whole rat race of it all–I can only be so competitive when I’m working in so many other areas of my life. I excel at many things and I know writing is one of my most concentrated talents. I’m not tooting my own horn. I’m using cliches because I have been told from an array of different people from all walks of life since I was a small child that I am a great writer.

If you don’t believe me, ask the people at [undisclosed name] Airlines what they thought of the complaint letter they received from a 5th grader in gel pen on black paper. I’ve been at it my whole life.

2 thoughts on “Days 12&13 (No, I still can’t catch up!)

  1. It’s great how we can build community here where we share and support dreams. It seems like taking the time to write them (especially in a public setting) makes it more attainable. They’ve been put into words, a reality. It’s encouraging to me to see how you’re making yours happen as you keep stepping into the places that will ultimately get you what you want.
    Also, was the gel pen pretty blue?

Leave a Reply

