Thankful

The last couple of weeks have been my internet down-time. And by that I don’t mean I’m treating myself to down-time by being on the internet. I mean I have not been as connected as usual (You know, since all of my jobs involve the world wide web).

Two very dear friends of mine lost their brother a couple of weeks ago. There was a search. There was hope and the coming together of a community. It was strange and intense and confusing. There was a whole range of emotions that I didn’t know I could feel involved in it. But coming out of it, this quote is more real to me than ever.

The events of life do not define us. It is what we take away from them.

I tweeted the other day something that I know only some people will really get to feel in their lives. “This week especially has shown me the value of just sitting in good company. You know, for hours on end.” It was a mixed bag of emotions in a bustling house where we were packed like sardines most days, but I wouldn’t have preferred to be anywhere else. I found so many things to be thankful for during that time, sitting in my friends’ childhood home surrounded by their friends and family. At times I was a fly on the wall in a crowded room, awkward enough that I didn’t even know what to do with my hands… but I found solace in their friends and their stories and conversations I was able to witness.

Perhaps I rambled and this post doesn’t make much sense to anyone but me. But you read it. So I guess that makes you a sucker. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Thankful

Leave a Reply

