Waiting for it to hit…

I found a website of prompts that I’d like to start using in the near future to really just probably piss the blogging community off. I was going to start today, but I just wanted to let you guys know that life happens. Because of kind-of-foreseen circumstances, I will not be near a reliable internet connection in the coming days. It’s not a fun topic, but my grandfather passed away this morning. And I just want to take this time to brag to you guys about what a wonderful guy he was (before I get all emotional and stuff).

My grandpa was not blood-related to me. He and my grandmother got married in the same year my parents did. He is who I knew growing up as a grandfather. Over time, he took over that father role with my mom and her two siblings, and I couldn’t think of anyone better. It’s been weird lately when people have referred to him as my “step-grandfather” because that’s never what he was to me. But if I just call him “grandpa” then there is the implication that he was my mother’s father, and I think there is a preconceived notion that children aren’t as close to their step-parents as they are to their birth parents. Agree to disagree on that one. This man warranted no less than full blood status. Did you see that Harry Potter reference right there?

My grandfather wanted to keep educational things fun. Plus he loved educational things. He and my grandmother helped me start a quartz collection as a child, taught us about his time-consuming and labor-intensive train set (he even let us TOUCH it!), and took us to tourist sites around wherever they lived at the time. They took the twins on an adventure to Estes Park and then turned around and dragged us up Pikes Peak (no, we did not hike), where my grandpa then pretended to push me off. He was always eager to see the three grandchildren, and would entertain us for hours with his Donald Duck impersonation (sorry about that one). We had a very fun dynamic, and that will be sorely missed.

My grandpa was an incredible individual. Aside from his accolades and impressive career as an engineer, he was funny, kind and interesting. We would fight over puppy chow while watching Harry Potter, and I just recently found out that his favorite movie was Monsters, Inc. And that makes sense completely with his personality. I miss him. And I love him. And I’m still waiting for it to really hit me.

“Associate yourself with people of good quality, for it is better to be alone than in bad company.” – Booker T. Washington

Leave a Reply

