Birthday Weekend

Have I dragged out Birthday Week long enough?! Goodness, gracious it’s been a fabulous April! I keep seeing people complain about the possibility of snow in KC today, and I can’t figure out why they’re so down! Then again, I’ve got a little brother whose birthday I am celebrating, so nothing can get me down (Except for these impossibly cold fingers. Solution? Baking a cake.)!

Anyway, let’s do a recap of my birthday. Woke up to flowers and a new Cosmo magazine from the sis (Rachel Bilson on it, who we all know is a personal fav!). Stesha had posted a photo (the main image on this post, above) to Instagram the day before and a gifty gift. Finished decoupaging/building a bookshelf for her (It has a poster print of Big Ben and the telephone booth we posed in in London), watched the news (all that Boston coverage was insane!), and ran around like a chicken with my head cut off wrapping gifts and being awesome. While building that GD bookshelf, I hammered my left thumb at least six times (which DOESN’T happen, folks!), put the back on the wrong side, re-hammered the back ON the back, and struggled with the crinkling paper I had decoupaged onto it. I also glued my fingers together AGAIN with Gorilla Glue, but I digress. When I was making myself a bagel at noon, I grabbed a hot knife out of the dishwasher and it burned me. I was tired, cranky, and wanting to punch a wall. But then my dear friend Alaina posted online that she had an opening for a styling appointment, so I took that sucker. I might not like people touching me, but I LOVE having my hair played with!

My Birthday wake up!

My Birthday wake up!

I went there around 2:30 and had her blow out my hair. It was AMAZING. Then I drove to Caribou Coffee and picked up my FREE birthday drink. You’re supposed to get a medium, but my friendly neighborhood barista gave me a LARGE Honey Hazelnut Latte… um, YUM! I was in a very very good mood. We all got home, our best friend in Northern Cal–Allison–sent us Edible Arrangements chocolate covered strawberries (YUM!!!), we got ready, I moved Erin’s bookcase into her room… we opened gifts, I showed her the bookcase, and then we blew out the candles on our birthday cakes (which were stunning thanks to my mom!).

*Side note: My sister knows me. She got me a vinyl copy of She & Him’s Christmas album, and ordered the entire CD collection of She & Him (including a pre-order of the new album!). I mean, let’s not discuss my Zooey obsession. Plus, she got me some zebra popcorn and a really funny (and not cool) card that included two things I hate on it. I also got a card and some gifts from my Aunt Vickie, an ecard from the grandparents, and iPhone and case from my parents, and a care package from Stesha (who always sends such timely items!). 

My family ventured down to Westport Flea Market for some birthday dinner happiness. Then my friends showed up. Plenty had intended to come, but I could not have asked for a better crowd than the ones who came. *Thanks to: Nicole, Maggie, Jack, Destin, Kevin, Mitchell, Jenny, Troy, Michelle, Joe, Faith, Matt, David, and Tim. Also, special thanks to Nick who tried!* Then part of our group meandered on over to The Cashew (after a potential witness protection run-in in Westport… that was interesting), and then Steak N Shake. All in all, I’d say it was a super amazing night.

And I’m always right.

Screen Shot 2013-04-23 at 2.53.42 PMScreen Shot 2013-04-23 at 2.53.22 PMScreen Shot 2013-04-23 at 2.53.07 PMScreen Shot 2013-04-23 at 2.52.26 PMScreen Shot 2013-04-23 at 2.52.07 PM Screen Shot 2013-04-23 at 2.52.40 PM

^^Some of the impossibly amazing people who showed up.^^

Another awesome Birthday gift? Tim, Erin and I got to drive to St. Louis the next day to go to our friend’s wedding ceremony. Then to Columbia, MO to see a friend’s band play a Pink Floyd tribute concert. It was four hours long, but an unexpected treat.

Screen Shot 2013-04-23 at 3.02.23 PM

Goofing off in Columbia.

My mom had to leave Sunday for Tennessee to help take care of my grandparents (Please send good vibes?), but Ian opened his gifts before she left. The remaining three of us watched him play golf yesterday, and this morning I woke him up with some Lamar’s Donuts and he blew out some candles on them. I’m getting super ranty, so I am going to go frost his birthday cake now and think of something deep and meaningful to talk about in my next post.

Screen Shot 2013-04-23 at 2.59.15 PM

Ian and the donuts.

I’m just so happy.

Leave a Reply

