Birthdays and Mardi Gras

Screen Shot 2013-02-12 at 9.34.18 AM
My mother.

I really love birthdays. Besides my twin sister (and my friend Ari in NYC), I have never met anyone who loves birthdays as much as I do. I was that annoying girl in high school who was making locker signs, singing birthday songs, giving people tiaras, and surprising people all the time. When my birthday was coming up, I would count down–but “coming up” means three months in advance to people like me. So everyone probably thought I was being annoying and selfish when I counted down. But, unlike a lot of people, I share my birthday with my sister, so I was counting down for both of us. It felt exciting. And I loved it.

So I have calmed down on counting down. But I still celebrate big. And today is my wonderful, amazing, hilarious, fun mother’s birthday. She has reached another milestone, and I couldn’t be more excited for her! This year, my dad wasn’t the only one who shied away from attention during his birthday. My mom has done it a bit as well, which is new to me. But we were still able to pull off a surprise birthday dinner a couple of weeks ago, and now that the big day is here, I just hope she finds happiness while she goes about her daily tasks. I hope she knows that–even though we have another high school basketball game to go to and we still have work and school–we didn’t forget about her birthday. We still want to do all of her favorite things plus more (Hello, it’s Mardi Gras people!).

I just want to say “Happy Birthday” to my mom. She has been supportive, raised her three kids (and everyone else’s kids) right, and looks amazing doing it! Couldn’t be more proud of the woman that helps us dream, and I hope she gets all she wants in this life.

It’s going to be a good day.

Screen Shot 2013-02-12 at 9.27.52 AM

Behind-the-scenes at my parents’ 25th Anniversary shoot. Fall 2011

Screen Shot 2013-02-12 at 9.30.49 AM

Me with my amazing grandparents and mom in Tennessee. Summer 2012

Screen Shot 2013-02-12 at 9.33.40 AM

Her favorite child is on the right.

Leave a Reply

