It’s the Final Countdown

“Are you CRAZY?!”

“WHY would you leave?!”

“You turned down EVERY OFFER?!”

“What’s WRONG with you???”

Image

Clearly I am making a decision that most people would not. It’s obvious that I am taking the road less traveled here, folks. The thought that any one person could be so in-demand is pretty asinine. But when gravity gives way and there is nothing pulling you in one direction or the other, you float to the familiar: home.

I never thought I’d be “that girl”. You know, the “I promise I won’t sleep on your couch for very long” girl. But what are you supposed to do when your non-paid, no-chance-at-hire summer internship ends and you simultaneously get forced out of the apartment you’ve been sleeping in for 11 months? I think what is important to remember in this situation is that when it rains, it pours. And for a while there, it was a torrential downpour.

So, for now, I am CHOOSING the road less traveled. People who move to NYC and fall in love with the city will do ANYTHING to stay. Work 12 jobs, shmooze, sell their bodies on the streets. I am CHOOSING to move home. Even though there may be more job opportunities in the city and I know I could shmooze my way to the top, I am in dire need of some sanity. The midwest brings clarity and peace of mind. Even if it means working 23671874892x harder to make a name for myself, I know that the path I have chosen will ultimately lead to exponentially more success. I don’t want to be just another face in the crowd.

The time I won’t be spending hauling myself around in the subway to make it from job to job just to make ends meet will be spent bettering my health and enjoying my family. Relaxation. Open space. People who inspire me. Full kitchen. My desktop computer. A gym membership.

Thank you to the people who believe in me and who have aided me in this surreal journey. It will not be my last adventure. I have made some amazing friends in this city (most of them aren’t from here–surprise!), and I will be back. Don’t feel sad for me. I can sense the disappointment in a voice when I tell people I am leaving The Big Apple. But this place is not my goal in life. A healthy, happy, successful lifestyle is.

So Kansas City, here I come.

Are you ready for me?

Leave a Reply

