“It started with a jerk…”

On Monday, I had the audacity of showing up to work in a bright floral tank top dress with leggings. It was “cute”. And then I ended up riding the elevator with Scott and Rob from upstairs. And I KNOW Rob had something to say about the outfit when they got off at the 7th floor. I know I looked like a little kid in the outfit, but my makeup made me look older. So whatever. I guess.

Monday was slow. Brendan was in San Francisco, and Dan took the week off. It was fun because Gaby spoke more to me and Mikey in general than usual. We jammed to old music and got along really well. Erin and I made the Doubletake website official announcement (http://dbl-take.com). I will be plugging that for forever and a day. Or, from now on.

After work Mikey, Katie and I rode the 6 together and Katie came to my apartment to eat leftover baked penne and cookie dough. She is a lot like me—very out of her element and completely against imposing on people. So me making plans is just going to have to happen. Which is good. It gets me out of my comfort zone. I walked her to the subway later, and then called my mom on the way back and spoke to her for a bit. Grandpa is looking ok, so that was a good conversation.

Jess and Alvi reconciled.
___________________________ 

Tuesday I was exhausted and I can’t even remotely tell you why. There was a 90+ year old man on the subway who no one gave their seat up for. I felt really bad for him until he started telling dirty jokes. After the first one, I laughed a bit and turned away. Yes, I did pretend to be busy on my phone. I am THAT girl.

When I got to work, the Salvation Army guy was waiting downstairs. I took him up to our floor and gave him the three boxes of shirts that we were donating. I ran upstairs to ask one of the interns about the freight elevator and if they knew who I could get to work it. They led me to one of our coworkers because they didn’t know. I then had to run downstairs and next door to get someone to meet us upstairs in that elevator. I know Salvation Army guy was a bit peeved, but it was good timing and it didn’t take long. So most of the corner is cleaned up.

We were done for the week by 3:30pm. I really like that about my job. People are understanding and they take time for their families. I forced myself to go get groceries. I decided to go to the Associated by Stuytown, which ended up being a really bad idea but I didn’t know it at the time. 

Do you know who shops at 4pm on a Tuesday? Old people. Lots and lots of old people. Do you know what kind of grocery stores exist in Manhattan? Small ones. With narrow aisles. And slow people. It was a miserable shopping experience. I stocked up, got a lot of heavy things, and was out. The heavy things weren’t an issue for me. They were an issue for the plastic bags that Associated supplied me with. So I spent the three stops on the L and the six stops on the F trying to make sure that they didn’t rip. That actually took a lot of effort. Nowhere to sit, people staring at me and waiting for something to break, no one offering to help… welcome to NYC. So when I got to my stop on the F, I condensed the bags to three and somehow survived the walk back.

On my way into the building, the lady in front of me had more bags than I did and was having the worst time trying to get in. Even though I was drenched in sweat and obviously in just as much pain (she was dropped off way closer to the apartments), I grabbed some of her bags and helped her to the elevator. All the while, she regaled me with the fascinating story of how she was having a party in a few days and she overbought soda bottles because they were on sale and she wasn’t sure where she was going to hide them so that they would actually last until the party and how she usually goes into the building on the 65th St. side but the bus dropped her off closer to the 64th St. side and how it was so important that she get everything upstairs and she overestimated her strength.

Shut up, lady.

I got into the apartment to find that my frozen raspberries had punctured the bag and were leaking. They are now a frozen blob in the freezer. I put everything away and hung out with Jess for a while. She decided she needed to go to Anthropologie, so we walked up there with Jackson and meandered around the store for a bit. While I was there, I got a text from my good friend Geoff asking where the best places to go in San Diego were, so I gave him some fun answers and he ended up at Café Coyote (if you have been there, you understand what an amazing decision—and suggestion—this was). That made me happy. I also got some froyo on this trip and we went into Walgreens for Redbox and came out with 3 movies, cheese, eggs, and a variety of other items. We made a last stop at Food Emporium, where Jess bought those sugar cookies with the amazing frosting and I bought bananas. Her cookies were consumed by the next morning (and it wasn’t even half my fault!).

We watched “Martha, Marcy Mae”. Then we watched “We Bought a Zoo” and I posted a photo on Facebook of Matt Damon wearing a USD hoodie. I did my research. The special hoodie in “We Bought a Zoo” is a University of San Diego hoodie. Suck it, South Dakota!

Jess and Alvi broke up.

Leave a Reply

